Novel Award - Fiction you can't forget

🎉 Event

Novel Award - Fiction you can't forget

🎉 Competitions
💻 Virtual
6d left
Register by May 31


Film & Media




The Peggy Chapman-Andrews First Novel Award

Your novel doesn’t have to be finished. We initially need only 5,000 to 8,000 words and a 300 word synopsis. If you’re long listed we’ll ask for a total of 15,000 words, including your original word count. Shortlisted? Then we need a total 30,000 words, again including your original entry and long listed word count. It all adds up to an incredible opportunity.


The Novel Award is open to writers aged 16 and over living in Britain (including the Channel Islands and Isle of Man) and Ireland (Northern Ireland and Republic of Ireland) and British writers living overseas.

For the purposes of the competition, we define “British writers” as:

  • British citizens living, working or studying abroad either permanently or temporarily.
  • British citizens overseas who hold dual citizenship.
  • Residents of the 14 British Overseas Territories: Anguilla; Bermuda; British Antarctic Territory; British Indian Ocean Territory; Caymen Islands; Falkland Islands; Gibraltar; Montserrat; Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands; St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha; South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands; Sovereign Base areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia on Cyprus; Turks and Caicos Islands; British Virgin Islands.

Entry information

  • Entries should not have been published or accepted for publication elsewhere, in print or online, by a mainstream or an independent publisher.
  • You must not be represented by a literary agent at the time of submission or at the long list and shortlist stages. If you receive an offer of representation while your novel is under consideration, you must inform us and withdraw.
  • Entrants must not have previously published a novel or novella although self-published novels, novellas and self-published e-books are accepted. ‘Published’ means work published in print or online, that has been selected or commissioned via an independent editorial process that does not involve the author of the work in question.
  • Entrants who have had other types of books traditionally published e.g. poetry, memoir or non-fiction are eligible.
  • The work submitted must not have won or been placed – 1st, 2nd, or 3rd – in another competition. Commended, short listed and long listed work is eligible provided a cash prize was not awarded.
  • Partially-written or completed novels in any adult fiction genre are accepted. This includes fiction for Young Adults providing there is a genuine crossover for adult readership.
  • We accept novellas providing the author would be able to submit approximately 30,000 words if selected for the shortlist stage.
  • Non-fiction and fiction for children are not eligible.
  • Entries must be entirely the work of the entrant and by submitting you are confirming the work is your own. Any evidence to the contrary will result in disqualification. Co-authored work is not eligible.
  • Simultaneous submissions are allowed but will become ineligible should they win a prize elsewhere, be published or receive notification of future publication while the competition is still being judged. Entry fees will not be refunded. You must inform us immediately should your entry be published or win a prize elsewhere.
  • Translations into English are eligible provided the source text is the entrant’s own original work and has not been previously published.
  • Authors with work published abroad in other languages are eligible provided this is their English language debut.
  • The judging agent may contact long listed and shortlisted authors before the winner is announced.
  • Entries submitted posthumously are not eligible.
View more